First Time With Ssl And Certificates

ICTCity

TSF Regular
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Location
Switzerland
I think you have a redirection in REDIRECT (from IIS) but you also have a script running in some page that redirects too. Right? If yes, delete one of them.
 

iphonogasm

TSF Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Location
New Zealand
i dont know whats going on, it almost seems like IIS is not restating properly like its takes a while to restart using iisreset

anyway it should work now can you test?

Thanks!
 

iphonogasm

TSF Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Location
New Zealand
lol really, does it load the index.php at all?

or is it when you click a link

the about page doesnt work yet, and reseller hosting and SSL certificates still no page!

Thanks again for your time!
 

ICTCity

TSF Regular
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Location
Switzerland
just another thing...

Set up a reminder somewhere to renew the certificate... maybe one month before it expires so you have time to re-buy another one and nobody notice anything :). Well, I did this but unfortunatly I did so many time POSTPONE on outlook and one day people started to call me asking why there was a "certificate error". I have ordered a new cert but in some way the file was corrupted so I passed almost 5 hours answering questions about cert error. Finally when everything was resolved outlook give me a pop-up: REMINDER: Renew SSL Cert!

What a great day ^^
 

iphonogasm

TSF Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Location
New Zealand
just another thing...

Set up a reminder somewhere to renew the certificate... maybe one month before it expires so you have time to re-buy another one and nobody notice anything :). Well, I did this but unfortunatly I did so many time POSTPONE on outlook and one day people started to call me asking why there was a "certificate error". I have ordered a new cert but in some way the file was corrupted so I passed almost 5 hours answering questions about cert error. Finally when everything was resolved outlook give me a pop-up: REMINDER: Renew SSL Cert!

What a great day ^^
Haha that sounds like fun. Thanks for the advice.

just quickly while were on the topic of IIS i have 2 quick questions

I want to add a binding to a directory within a site? Is this possible

And, ....forgot the second, will update when i remember lol
 

ICTCity

TSF Regular
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Location
Switzerland
Haha that sounds like fun. Thanks for the advice.

just quickly while were on the topic of IIS i have 2 quick questions

I want to add a binding to a directory within a site? Is this possible

And, ....forgot the second, will update when i remember lol
Mhhh not really... when you have a problem, and you have a resolution but you must wait for a 3rd part... it's... well you know... not funny ^^

What you mean by binding to a directory? you can BIND a website which resides in a directory. Do you want to bind another website which is in the same directory of another website? like this: mysite.mydomain.com which is in C:\www\mysite\ and anothersite.mydomain.com which is in C:\www\mysite\anothersite\ ?

Right now I can't read inside human mind... but I'm working (hard) on this. I will update too when I can do this... remotely... wireless...
 

iphonogasm

TSF Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Location
New Zealand
ok i have the site megahosting....

within that site is a directory forums, for the community.

so....megahosting.co.nz/forums/

But i want to add the bind for a DNS record i host

http://forums.megahosting.co.nz to navigate to the directory within my site megahosting

another example

MegaHosting....
> Images
> Forums - add binding forums.megahosting.co.nz A record
> Admin
> css
>> index.php
>> contact.php
>> etc etc.php

Right now i have the forums setup as a seperate site.

Thanks
 

ICTCity

TSF Regular
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Location
Switzerland
DNS records can only convert to IP. That means if you insert an A record forum.megahosting.co.nz it must point to your public IP but this (now) will point to home page.

What you can do is to create another zone or a redirect that points to the folder FORUMS.

Usually it works like this:

You have the folder somewhere called megahosting.co.nz then you have a folder called www (so: www.megahosting.co.nz) and then you can create others folders like FORUMS and so on.

This article is well explained and it should be your case:
http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articles_tutorials/web-sites-windows-2003.html
 
Top Bottom